Sarah Rothenberg – In Darkness and Light

Sarah Rothenberg - In Darkness and Light
Free    |  Sep 19 - 29, 2022  |  8:00AM - 8:00PM
Virtual Event

Vijay Iyer: For My Father (world premiere) (2021-22)
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111 (1821-22)
Morton Feldman: Palais de Mari (1986)

In the spring of 2020, much of the world came to a standstill, and the following twelve months brought a dramatic mix of suspended time, social upheaval, loss and renewal. Sarah Rothenberg, recently called a “trailblazing pianist” by The Boston Globe, presents a fascinating program that encompasses extremes of emotion and the spiritual power of music across 200 years. Beethoven’s transcendent last piano sonata of 1821-22, at the center of the program, is preceded by a new work by genre-defying, Grammy Award-winning composer Vijay Iyer, commissioned by DACAMERA for this concert. The recital closes with Morton Feldman’s timelessly contemplative final piano work.

“During the many months of social isolation we all experienced over the last two years, Beethoven Op. 111 and Feldman’s Palais de Mari were the two works that sustained me. Endless inspiration came from Beethoven’s sonata of contrasting movements and Feldman’s mesmerizing meditation on time.” — Sarah Rothenberg

“Entrancing” – Alex Ross, The New Yorker, author of The Rest is Noise and Wagnerism

“Rothenberg…was virtuosic in her nimble execution of the devilishly difficult and dramatic Sonata No. 32 in C Minor, Op. 111…Rothenberg found every measure of its excitement..”– Houston Chronicle