Orchestra Santa Monica presents "Bohemian Rhapsody"

Roger Kalia and members of Orchestra Santa Monica
Adult $30, Senior: $25, College Student $15, Student (K-12): $10    |  May 26, 2019  |  2:30AM - 5:00AM

Kodály: Dances of Galanta
Shostakovich: Cello Concerto No. 1
Dvořák: Symphony No. 8
Roger Kalia, conductor
Eric Byers, cello

Our final concert of the season focuses on the music of two composers of Eastern European descent: Zoltán Kodály and Antonín Dvořák. Kodály’s Dances of Galanta is based on Hungarian folk dances while Dvořák’s Symphony No. 8 has been called his most pastoral symphony through his use of Czech melodies. We will also feature cellist Eric Byers in Shostakovich’s haunting and exciting Cello Concerto No. 1.