Film Independent Spirit Awards

In 2017’s Ingrid Goes West, Aubrey Plaza plays a troubled young woman whose unhinged thirst for the Insta-influencer good life leads her on a fraud-filled journey to the sunny streets of LA. It was yet another entry in Plaza’s surprisingly wide-ranging filmography—a career defined by sharp wit, unselfconscious risk-taking and lots and lots of extremely GIFfable onscreen moments. Seriously, there’s very little in life that can’t be efficiently summed up with a by a single Aubrey Plaza moment from Parks & Recreation or Scott Pilgrim.

But it was Ingrid—which Plaza co-produced—that won the actor her first Film Independent Spirit Award, for Best First Feature in 2018 (the film was also nominated for Best First Screenplay.) And now, Plaza is already slated to return to the deceptively slippery Spirit Awards stage exactly one year later—not as a winner this time (do check all of this year’s nominees) but as the show’s host.

Hosting this year’s Spirit Awards a daunting gig to be sure, coming after two consecutive grand-slam turns by Oh Hello! BFFs Nick Kroll and John Mulaney in 2017 and 2018. But hey—why send two dudes to do a one-woman job?

Plaza will join the ranks of such Spirit Awards hosts as Kristen Bell and Fred Armisen, Andy Samberg, Joel McHale, Sarah Silverman (who’s hosted twice), Samuel L. Jackson (also twice) and John Waters (four times!), among many others. The ceremony takes place February 23rd and will broadcast LIVE exclusively on IFC at 2:00 pm PT/5:00 pm ET.