• All Venues

    Close

Events / Wheelchair Accessible (277)

Wednesday, November 5

Meet the Author: Susan Rosvall

Crowell Public Library

1890 Huntington Drive, CA, CA 91108

7:00pm

The Friends of Crowell Public Library’s Meet the Authors series continues with Susan Rosvall, whose first novel, Silence is Broken, is about a naïve young private on a howitzer crew at Phu Loi base camp, Vietnam circa 1966. There he encounters an illiterate Klansman from rural Alabama who launches a series of increasingly homicidal attacks against him. The Private gains respect among the men when he confronts his nemesis and emerges a true hero during an attack where he saves the lives of eighty men. Swirling with local color and hard facts, the novel reveals a compelling story of survival, growth, and heroism, grounded in the history of the times. Silence is Broken is about self-reliance and personal courage, the metamorphic qualities of war and the healing power of empathy. At the broadest and most universal level, it’s about informed citizenship and the just use of deadly force. Learn some fascinating insights into this amazing story direct from the author on Wednesday November 5th at 7:00 p.m. in the Library’s Barth Community Room.

Read More

Thursday, November 6

The Ebell of Los Angeles' Art Salon Series: Sarko Meene

The Ebell of Los Angeles

741 S. Lucerne Blvd., Los Angeles, 90005

6:00pm to 9:00pm

SARKO MEENÉ

An artist of many words, however not being able to prove anything using them, Sarko Meené delivers her philosophy of life in colors. Driven by “life is simple” slogan, she still admits life is yet very complicated to simply live it. Through the process of painting she manages to keep things plain. None of her paintings seem to be complete as she zooms into a segment of “life” and challenges the viewer to see what she sees. “Life is not only simple but it is also good” she says “and everything matters”.
All Sarko Meené paintings come with an envelope, the content of which is only to be known by the owner of the painting. Sarko Meené does not present a fixed biography of her creative career, because she simply doesn’t have one.

Light refreshments and no host bar. The event will be located in the Art Salon. The event is FREE, but RSVP is REQUIRED.

Read More

TAGS A TOAST TO TWO YEARS

6:00pm to 9:00pm

WEST HOLLYWOOD, CA (October 20th, 2014) – Trendy clothing boutique, TAGS celebrates their 2nd Anniversary event Thursday night, November 6th at the stores location 8570 W. Sunset Blvd unit 6.1A West Hollywood CA. The night of fashion, music and art, will be powered by Sarah Boyd of Simply Stylist with additional partners Torn by Ronny Kobo, Ludevine, New Moon, Sickys, and Nicky Rich.

Headlining the nights' festivities is a presentation by New York designer Ronny Kobo for Torn launched in 2008, the iconic brand has impacted every party of the fashion world with her statement making dresses. Models will be showcasing the new line along side DJ sets from D.J. Crash, keeping attendees around until the early hours of the night.

Spring/Summer ’15 emerging designer trunk shows will take place at 6pm until 9pm. Designers featured include Nikki Rich by Nikki Lund and Richie Sambora creator’s of rock and roll fashion with a sophisticated flair, freedom of expression designs by Sickly, cutting edge jewelry by Sarah Boyd for Capwell, and timeless, mysterious jewelry line Ludevine.

Read More

"Being Audrey Hepburn": In monologue, Q&A and signing with Mitchell Kriegman

Barnes and Noble 3rd Street Promenade

1201 3rd Street, Santa Monica, 90401

7:00pm

"Being Audrey Hepburn" is coming to L.A.!

Enjoy a reading by actress Erica Flor, followed by a Q&A and signing with author Mitchell Kriegman.

- Creator, writer and producer of "Clarissa Explains It All," "Bear in the Big Blue House" and other favorites
- Hepburn fanatics will adore "Being Audrey Hepburn," a coming of age novel in the vein of "The Devil Wears Prada" and "The Nanny Diaries"
- Learn about the mystery of Givenchy's "Little Black Dress," 90s Nickelodeon nostalgia and more

You won't want to miss this event. RSVP to [email protected] today.

Visit www.beingaudreyhepburn for more information.

Read More

Hells Belles Burlesque Presents: Whiskey Royale

First & Hope supperclub Downtown LA

710 W 1st St, LOS ANGELES, 90012

9:00pm to 10:30pm

Hells Belles Burlesque Presents: Whiskey Royale

You saunter into a dimly lit smoky room. A whiskey, straight up, appears in front of you, as if by magic. The stage lies dark, you sip your whiskey and wonder what lies just behind the curtain. You wait...

The curtain opens. A guitar wail cuts the anticipatory silence. The drums kick, and a silhouette appears, backlit on the stage. Suddenly you're draped with a boa, adorned with a glittery fedora, and all you can see under the brim of your newly acquired hat is legs, legs, legs!

You duck as a rhinestoned bra carelessly flies past you in a blur of sparkles. The rough rock and roll scent of leather envelopes you. You're so close you can feel the heat of the shimmy, the vibrations of the shake, and the the whip of hair flip. Welcome to the world of burlesque, Hells Belles Style...where all your Rock and Roll fantasies come true!

And don't worry, it's definitely okay to stare...

Show starts promptly at 9pm!

Tickets:
presale $25
door $30

Read More

Friday, November 7

Pages