• All Venues

    Close

Events / Sports & Entertainment (82)

Sunday, September 7

John Scalzi discusses and signs Lock In

Vroman's Bookstore

695 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91101

5:00pm

“When a virus blasts the nation, leaving most sufferers only feverish, a handful with acute meningitis, and an unfortunate one percent so completely locked in that they can't speak or even move, scientists come to the rescue with two initiatives. One is a virtual-reality environment, "The Agora," that allows the locked-in to interact with others. The other involves the discovery that a few folks have brains receptive to being controlled by others, allowing the locked-in to hop aboard and use the bodies of these people as their own.”- Library Journal

Read More

Monday, September 8

Peter Seth presents and signs What It Was Like

Book Soup

8818 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90069

7:00pm

"It's really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They're right. I did some extremely foolish things; I'm the first to say it. And they've left me in jail and alone."

So begins one of the most compelling, emotionally charged, and affecting novels you are likely to read this year.  It is the summer of 1968 and a young man takes a job at a camp in upstate New York before starting his first semester at Columbia University. There, he meets Rachel Price, a fellow counselor who is as beautiful as she is haunted. Their romance will burn with a passion neither of them has ever known before...a passion with the power to destroy.   In the tradition of Endless Love and Gone Girl, What it was Like is an intimate, raw, and revealing journey through the landscape of all-consuming love. It announces the debut of a remarkable storyteller.  (Story Plant)

Read More

Priya Rana Kapoor discusses and signs Give Yourself Permission to Live Your Life

Vroman's Bookstore

695 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91101

7:00pm

In her new book, Priya Rana Kapoor takes you on The Permission Journey™, a step-by-step guide that will equip you with the strength and courage to have newfound self-confidence and live the life you've always dreamed.  Told from personal experience, Kapoor explains how she battled her own demons and how you can do the same.  The breakthrough techniques outlined in The Permission Journey™ have benefited a wide range of people, from executives of large international corporations, to recent graduates struggling to find their feet.  Everyone struggles with self-worth from time to time, and this book lets us know that we're not alone and what we can do to turn things around.

Read More

Tuesday, September 9

Ray's & Stark Bar Cur-ATE Dinner Series - Ancient and Modern Korean Life

Ray's and Stark Bar

5905 WILSHIRE BLVD , Los Angeles, CA

5:00pm

Ray’s & Stark Bar, in conjunction with LACMA and in partnership with ArtBites, are proud to announce the next installment of the Cur-ATE dinner series. Through the blending of fine art with culinary art, ArtBites founder Maite Gomez-Rejón will trace the role of food in a historical and social context as displayed in art through a series of gallery tours followed by a three-course meal inspired by the evening’s theme by Chef Viet Pham of Ray’s & Stark Bar.In September, patrons are invited to explore five centuries of Ancient and Modern Korean Life through the exploration of Korean art in the special exhibition Treasures from Korea: Arts and Culture from the Joseon Dynasty, 1392-1910. The tour will be followed by a multi-course contemporary meal with a Korean twist by Ray’s & Stark Bar’s Chef Viet Pham. Theme wine menus will be available for additional cost at each dinner.Ancient and Modern Korean Life - September 9th, 2014

Read More

Aloud @ Central Library: Perfidia: A Novel

ALOUD @ Central Library

Mark Taper Auditorium 630 W. Fifth St., Los Angeles CA, CA 90071

7:15pm to 9:00pm

James Ellroy
In conversation with author Walter Kirn
Ellroy, one of America’s greatest living crime writers, draws on the history of Los Angeles in his newest novel, "Perfidia." Together with Kirn, author of a recent riveting take on a Los Angeles cold case, Ellroy uncovers a corrupt city under the shadow of Pearl Harbor, where the investigation of a hellish murder of a Japanese family throws together and rips apart four driven souls.

FREE/ RESERVATIONS RECOMMENDED. Standby tickets distributed 1 hour before program, first-come/ first-served, admitted based on availability.

Read More

Wednesday, September 10

Pages