• All Venues

    Close

Events / Sports & Entertainment (77)

Saturday, September 6

Pressed Juicery Book Launch Event

Pressed Juicery - Brentwood

13050 San Vicente Blvd, Los Angeles, CA

2:00pm to 5:00pm

You’re invited to the Brentwood launch party for Pressed Juicery’s new recipe book, JUICE: Recipes For Juicing, Cleansing, And Living Well, happening on Saturday September 6th, from 2-5 p.m. in the South Courtyard of the Brentwood Country Mart.

The event is open to the public, and fans can enjoy fresh-pressed cocktails, small bites from Kitchensurfing, and a farmers’ market pop-up by Summerland. Copies of JUICE will also be available for purchase, and guests are welcome to have their books signed by the Pressed Juicery team during the party. 

Read More

The Prohibition Ball

The Culver Hotel

9400 Culver Boulevard, Culver City, CA

8:00pm to 1:00am

Back in 1924, when The Culver Hotel made its debut, America was in the midst of Prohibition, with some of Los Angeles’ most popular speakeasies and night clubs just steps away on Washington Blvd. One of the most popular hot spots, The Cotton Club, was often frequented by the biggest stars of the day including the town’s movie moguls and gangsters. Even Louis Armstrong, the Jazz master himself and onetime resident of Culver City, entertained at the local clubs. Tunnels beneath The Culver Hotel ostensibly designed to ferry pedestrians under the busy streets to the nearby movie studios were also used to smuggle illicit booze. One can only imagine how roaring those twenties were…

This year, as The Culver Hotel turns 90, it is transporting you back in time with itsGrand Prohibition Ball, aJazz Age bash featuring prohibition inspired handcrafted cocktails, imaginative dishes reminiscent of classic 1920’s fare and an array of magical entertainment. Grab you most dashing ‘Gatsby’ attire, strut past the vintage Ford Model Ts, down the yellow ‘brick road’ carpet leading into The Culver Hotel, to celebrate 90 years in the making at The Prohibition Ball on Saturday, September 6th, 2014!

TheProhibition Ball will be an evening full of enchanting entertainment, giving guests much to enjoy:

Grab your dancing shoes, as live swing and jazz bands, including Sylvia & the Rhythm Boys and Modern Cocktail Society will take over the hotel’s Grand Lobby and 2nd floor Parisian Room. There will be other musical performances during The Prohibition Ball…but some we have to keep secret.

The Burlesque performers will unquestionably add to the glittering evening along with the wandering Magician who will thrill and astound guests when least expected.

At The Culver Hotel Blackjack Table in the elegant Parisian Room the dealer will challenge guests to a hand. Win and take home a commemorative casino chip courtesy of The Culver Hotel and Krome Vodka.

Cigar aficionados can indulge in made-to-order Hand-Rolled Cigars in the outdoor Cigar Lounge, while others can enjoy the flapper-inspired Cigarette Girls handing out (candy) smokes.

An Old-Timey Photographer will be on hand to capture all the evening’s magical moments, while taking sepia-style photos of guests all throughout the night. From posing with one of the four vintage Ford Model Ts parked in front of the hotel, to the very last couple left cutting up the rug.

At the Flip Book Photo Concession, partygoers will have the opportunity to document their silent movie best as they star in their very own Prohibition Ball Flip Book that they can then take home as one of the evening’s souvenirs. 

In honor of the hotel’s connection to The Wizard of Oz, and for an added dose of movie magic, there will be little people dressed as Munchkins mingling with guests throughout the ball, (the classic was filmed in Culver City, and nearly all 124 actors playing Munchkins stayed at The Culver Hotel during production).

No birthday party would be complete without a Grand Cake Cutting!  Help The Culver Hotel sing Happy Birthday as they reflect on 90 years of memories and many more decades filled with wonderful celebrations.

Read More

Sunday, September 7

John Scalzi discusses and signs Lock In

Vroman's Bookstore

695 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91101

5:00pm

“When a virus blasts the nation, leaving most sufferers only feverish, a handful with acute meningitis, and an unfortunate one percent so completely locked in that they can't speak or even move, scientists come to the rescue with two initiatives. One is a virtual-reality environment, "The Agora," that allows the locked-in to interact with others. The other involves the discovery that a few folks have brains receptive to being controlled by others, allowing the locked-in to hop aboard and use the bodies of these people as their own.”- Library Journal

Read More

Monday, September 8

Peter Seth presents and signs What It Was Like

Book Soup

8818 Sunset Blvd., Los Angeles, CA 90069

7:00pm

"It's really a very simple story. What happened was this: I met this girl and did a very stupid thing. I fell in love. Hard. I know that to some people that makes me an idiot and a loser. What can I say? They're right. I did some extremely foolish things; I'm the first to say it. And they've left me in jail and alone."

So begins one of the most compelling, emotionally charged, and affecting novels you are likely to read this year.  It is the summer of 1968 and a young man takes a job at a camp in upstate New York before starting his first semester at Columbia University. There, he meets Rachel Price, a fellow counselor who is as beautiful as she is haunted. Their romance will burn with a passion neither of them has ever known before...a passion with the power to destroy.   In the tradition of Endless Love and Gone Girl, What it was Like is an intimate, raw, and revealing journey through the landscape of all-consuming love. It announces the debut of a remarkable storyteller.  (Story Plant)

Read More

Priya Rana Kapoor discusses and signs Give Yourself Permission to Live Your Life

Vroman's Bookstore

695 E. Colorado Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91101

7:00pm

In her new book, Priya Rana Kapoor takes you on The Permission Journey™, a step-by-step guide that will equip you with the strength and courage to have newfound self-confidence and live the life you've always dreamed.  Told from personal experience, Kapoor explains how she battled her own demons and how you can do the same.  The breakthrough techniques outlined in The Permission Journey™ have benefited a wide range of people, from executives of large international corporations, to recent graduates struggling to find their feet.  Everyone struggles with self-worth from time to time, and this book lets us know that we're not alone and what we can do to turn things around.

Read More

Pages